Neolithic Britain : New Stone Age sites of England, Scotland, and Wales


Neolithic Britain : New Stone Age sites of England, Scotland, and Wales

Rodney Castleden

Routledge, 1992

大学図書館所蔵 件 / 7



Includes bibliographical references (p. 405-409) and index



The phrase "Stone Age" has come to mean different things to different people. To some it implies denigration, and a lack of culture, but archaeologists increasingly regard it as a period of achievement. The climax of the Stone Age in Britain, the Neolithic period (4700-2000 BC) was a period of varied achievement, and it is this phase that Rodney Castleden documents in this book. Britain is rich in neolithic sites, which supply us with evidence of the complex, archaic societies that flourished the length and breadth of the island. At its highest development, the Neolithic economy depended on networks of communication that spread right across into mainland Europe. The Neolithic Britons created some magnificent monumental architecture at their cult centres, such as Avebury and Maes Howe. All too often the remains of that Neolithic world have survived only in severely damaged fragments, sometimes hastily retrieved with the limited resources of a rescue dig: yet even these provide us with valuable insights. Where more sustained work has been possible, there is a a more continous image of the Neolithic culture. This book should be of interest to students and academics of archaeology.


England Avon Bedfordshire Berkshire Buckinghamshire Cambridgeshire Cheshire Cornwall (excluding Scilly) Cumbria Derbyshire Devon Dorset Essex Gloucestershire Greater London Hampshire Hereford and Worcester Hertfordshire Humberside Kent Lancashire Leicestershire Lincolnshire Merseyside Norfolk Northamptonshire Northumberland Nottinghamshire Oxfordshire Scilly Isles Shropshire Somerset Staffordshire Suffolk Surrey East Sussex West Sussex Tyne and Wear Wiltshire North Yorkshire West Yorkshire Scotland Borders Central Dumfries and Galloway Fife Grampion Highland: Caithness, Inverness, Nairn, Ross and Cromarty, Sutherland Lothian Orkney Shetland Strathclyde Tayside Western Isles Wales Anglesey (part of Gwynedd), Clwyd, Dyfed, Glamorgan, Gwynedd (excluding Anglesey), Powys.

「Nielsen BookData」 より