Bibliographic Information

The Alexandria quartet

Lawrence Durrell

Faber and Faber, 2005, c1962

  • : pbk.

Available at  / 1 libraries

Search this Book/Journal


"This paperback edition first published in 2005" -- T.p. verso

Contents of Works

  • Justine
  • Balthazar
  • Mountolive
  • Clea

Description and Table of Contents


Consisting of Justine, Balthazar, Mountolive and Clea, The Alexandria Quartet explores the sexual and political intrigues of a group of expatriates in Egypt before and after the Second World War. In Justine, L. G. Darley attempts to reconcile himself to the recent end of his affair with the dark, passionate, multi-faceted Justine Hosnani. Balthazar is named for Darley's friend, a doctor and mystic, and it provides a retelling of Darley's romance with Justine from a more philosophical perspective. Mountolive is the narrative of English ambassador David Mountolive. The final volume, Clea, finds Darley maturing into the knowledge that the gifted painter Clea Montis is the woman for whom he is truly destined.

by "Nielsen BookData"


  • NCID
  • ISBN
    • 057122556X
  • Country Code
  • Title Language Code
  • Text Language Code
  • Place of Publication
  • Pages/Volumes
    884 p.
  • Size
    20 cm
  • Classification
Page Top