Edmund Burke


Edmund Burke

F. P. Lock.

Oxford University Press, 2008-2009

  • Vol. 1, 1730-1784 : pbk
  • Vol. 2, 1784-1797 : pbk

大学図書館所蔵 件 / 3



Originally published: Oxford: Clarendon, 1996

Includes bibliographical references and index



Vol. 1, 1730-1784 : pbk ISBN 9780199226634


Edmund Burke (1730-1797) was one of the most profound, versatile, and accomplished thinkers of the eighteenth century. Born and educated in Dublin, he moved to London to study law, but remained to make a career in English politics, completing A Philosophical Enquiry into the Origin of Our Ideas of the Sublime and Beautiful (1757) before entering the political arena. A Member of Parliament for nearly thirty years, his speeches are still read and studied as classics of political thought, and through his best-known work, Reflections on the Revolution in France (1790) he has continued to exercise a posthumous influence as `the father of conservatism'. In this, the first of two volumes, F.P. Lock covers the years between 1730-1784, and describes Burke's Irish upbringing and education, early writing, and his parliamentary career throughout the momentous years of the American War of Independence. Lavishly illustrated, the book provides an authoritative account of the complexity and breadth of Burke's philosophical and political writing and examines its origins in his personal experiences and the political world of his day.


  • 1. Growing Up Irish, 1730-1744
  • 2. From a Boy to a Man, 1744-1750
  • 3. Getting Started, 1750-1757
  • 4. A Philosophical Enquiry, 1757
  • 5. Maps of Mankind, 1756-1765
  • 6. Journalist and Jackal, 1758-1765
  • 7. Gleams of Prosperity, 1765-1768
  • 8. Present Discontents, 1768-1770
  • 9. Squalls and Stagnation, 1770-1773
  • 10. America and Bristol, 1774-1776
  • 11. Waiting on Events, 1776-1779
  • 12. Shears or Hatchets, 1779-1781
  • 13. Paradise Lost, 1781-1784

Vol. 2, 1784-1797 : pbk ISBN 9780199541539


This is the second and concluding volume of a biography of Edmund Burke (1730-97), a key figure in eighteenth-century British and Irish politics and intellectual life. Covering the most interesting years of his life (1784-97), its leading themes are India and the French Revolution. Burke was largely responsible for the impeachment of Warren Hastings, former Governor-General of Bengal. The lengthy (145-day) trial of Hastings (which lasted from 1788 to 1795) is recognized as a landmark episode in the history of Britain's relationship with India. Lock provides the first day-by-day account of the entire trial, highlighting some of the many disputes about evidence as well as the great set speeches by Burke and others. In 1790, Burke published Reflections on the Revolution in France , the earliest sustained attack on the principles of the Revolution. Continuously in print ever since, the Reflections remains the most widely read and quoted book about the Revolution. The Reflections was followed by a series of anti-revolutionary writings, as Burke maintained his crusade against the Revolution to the end of his life. In addition to these leading themes, the biography examines many other topics in its coverage of Burke's busy and varied life: his parliamentary career; his family, friendships, and philanthropy; and his often difficult and obsessive personality. There are more than thirty illustrations, including many contemporary caricatures that convey how Burke was perceived by an often hostile and uncomprehending public. Controversial in his time, Burke is now regarded as one of the greatest of orators in the English language, as well as one of the most influential political philosophers in the Western tradition.


  • 1. Picking up the Pieces, 1784-1785
  • 2. A Pledge Redeemed, 1785-1786
  • 3. In the Name of the Commons, 1786-1787
  • 4. A Boundless Object, 1787-1788
  • 5. Madness and Discord, 1788-1789
  • 6. The Making of the Reflections, 1789-1790
  • 7. Reflections on the Revolution in France, 1790
  • 8. Triumph and Tribulation, 1790-1791
  • 9. A Uniform Whig, 1791-1792
  • 10. Chained to an Oar, 1792-1794
  • 11. A Withered Stump, 1794-1795
  • 12. An Old Oak, 1795-1796
  • 13. Sublime and Minute, 1796-1797
  • Index

「Nielsen BookData」 より