Mexico in its novel : a nation's search for identity


Mexico in its novel : a nation's search for identity

by John S. Brushwood

(The Texas Pan American series)

University of Texas Press, 2012, c1966

  • : [pbk.]

大学図書館所蔵 件 / 1



"First paperback printing, 2012"--T.p. verso

Includes bibliographical references (p. [249]-250) and index



Mexico in Its Novel is a perceptive examination of the Mexican reality as revealed through the nation's novel. The author presents the Mexican novel as a cultural phenomenon: a manifestation of the impact of history upon the nation, an attempt by a people to come to grips with and understand what has happened and is happening to them. Written in a clear and graceful style, this study examines the life of the novel as a genre against the background of Mexican chronology. It begins with a survey of the mid-twentieth-century novel, the Mexican novel which came of age in the period following the 1947 publication of Agustin Yanez's The Edge of the Storm. During this time the novel resolved some of its most complicated problems and, as a result, offered a wider and deeper view of reality. Having established this circumstance, John Brushwood goes back in time to the Conquest and then moves forward to the twentieth-century novel. Passing from the Colonial Period into the nineteenth century, the author recognizes the relationship between Romanticism and the desire for logical social behavior, and then views this relationship in the perspective of the Reform, an attempt to bring order out of chaos. The novel under the Diaz dictatorship is seen in three different phases, and the last Diaz chapter actually moves into the Revolution itself. The novel during the years of fighting is considered along with the first post-Revolutionary fiction. From that point the developing conflict within Mexican reality itself-a conflict between introversion and extroversion, nationalism and cosmopolitanism-reaches out to seek its solution in the novels of the first chapter.


PrefaceA Note on Mexican History1. The Novel of Time and Being (1947-1963)2. The Colonial Temperament (1521-1831)3. Common Sense and Clouded Vision (1832-1854)4. A Design for Progress (1855-1884)5. The Desperate Compromise (1885-1891)6. A Certain Elegance (1892-1906)7. The Hope of the Past (1907-1912)8. The Gradual Tempest (1913-1924)9. The Artists' Intent (1925-1930)10. The Mirror Image (1931-1946)A Chronological List of Novels (1832-1963)A Selected BibliographyIndex

「Nielsen BookData」 より

関連文献: 1件中  1-1を表示